Five Nations Earn Gold At FINA Diving Grand Prix In Bolzano (ITA) – SwimSwam

Courtesy: FINA

Divers from five nations earned gold medals in the second leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix, held from July 2-4, 2021 in Bolzano (ITA). It was the first physically attended event of the season, after a virtual leg organised by Canada in the end of May.

In the men’s competition, the hosts were the best in both 3m and 10m synchro events, with Giovanni Tocci and Lorenzo Marsaglia prevailing in the springboard and Andreas Larsen/Eduard Timbretti Gugiu dominating operations on the higher board.

Individually, Alberto Arevalo Alcon, from Spain, appeared inspired in the 3m springboard, concluding first in 407.90. In the platform, Brazil’s Isaac Souza got the gold in 377.50. The minor medals in these events were to Ukraine and Germany in the 3m and to Italy, second and third in the 10m.

Among women, the host nation also reigned in the 3m synchro (thanks to a well-succeeded performance by Elena Bertocchi/Chiara Pellacani), while Netherlands and Brazil shared the honours in the individual events. In the 3m springboard, Inge Jansen (NED, 292.90) beat experienced Bertocchi (who had to content with silver in 275.65), while in the platform Ingrid Oliveira beat her main challengers for a victory in 305.90.

Finally, the Swiss duet composed by Guillaume Dutoit and Madeline Coquoz earned the last gold medal at stake, in the mixed 3m springboard synchro, with a final result of 245.88.

France and Norway complete the list of countries with medals at FINA Diving Grand Prix in Bolzano (ITA).

Medallists in Bolzano (ITA):


3m springboard: 1. Alberto Arevalo Alcon (ESP), 407.90; 2. Danylo Konovalov (UKR), 369.55; 3. Patrick Kreisel (GER), 345.60

10m platform: 1. Isaac Souza (BRA), 377.50; 2. Riccardo Giovannini (ITA), 356.85; 3. Andreas Larsen (ITA), 340.80

3m springboard synchro: 1. Giovanni Tocci/Lorenzo Marsaglia (ITA); 2. Gwendal Bisch/Alexis Jandard (FRA), 357.75; 3. Adrian Abadia Garcia/Nicolas Garcia Boissier (ESP), 343.32

10m platform synchro: 1. Andreas Larsen/Eduard Timbretti Gugiu (ITA), 345.15; 2. Danylo Avanesov/Vladyslav Klimko (UKR), 301.44


3m springboard: 1. Inge Jansen (NED), 292.90; 2. Elena Bertocchi (ITA), 275.65; 3. Chiara Pellacani (ITA), 255.25

10m platform: 1. Ingrid Oliveira (BRA), 305.90; 2. Celine van Diujn (NED), 299.80; 3. Maia Biginelli (ITA), 262.75

3m springboard synchro: 1. Elena Bertocchi/Chiara Pellacani (ITA), 278.43; 2. Jana Lisa Rother/Saskia Oettinghaus (GER), 177.66


1. Guillaume Dutoit/Madeline Coquoz (SUI), 245.88; 2. Alexander Lube/Saskia Oettinghaus (GER), 236.19; 3. Martin Dyrstad/Anne Sofie Holm (NOR), 234.66